Tompkins Cortland Community College

College News

Peter Voorhees

Public Information Officer
Sports Information Coordinator

607.844.8222, Ext. 4351

Social Media
Stay connected with
Tompkins Cortland

College News

News Release

Panthers Well Represented on All-Region Team

November 15, 2013

Coach Andy Davis and four Tompkins Cortland Community College men’s soccer players have earned NJCAA Region III all-region honors. Davis was named the co-coach of the year in the region; Sean Streb (Lansing H.S./Lansing), Morgan Shutter (Odessa-Montour H.S./Alpine), and Rob Licciardi (North Babylon H.S./North Babylon) were all first-team selections; McZiggy Richards (School for Human Rights/Brooklyn) was chosen to the second team. A total of 26 players were voted onto the team by the coaches of Region III. SUNY Adirondack and Herkimer County Community College each had five selections, followed by Genesee Community College and Tompkins Cortland each with four selections. The other eight selections were distributed among six schools.


Streb is just the fifth Panther in the 19-year history of Tompkins Cortland men’s soccer to repeat as a first-team all-region selection. He was a team captain and led a defense that allowed just 11 goals in 17 games, and only five over the final 11 games. Despite playing defense most of the season, he was second on the team with seven goals.


Shutter, a freshman and the Mid-State Athletic Conference Player of the Year, led Tompkins Cortland with 10 goals and 24 points. Licciardi, a sophomore, was fourth on the team with 11 points on four assists and three goals. Richards, a freshman, had an 11-1-3 record that included six shutouts. His 0.65 goals against average this season was the best ever for a Tompkins Cortland goalie.


The regional award is the first such honor for Davis and the first for a Tompkins Cortland men’s soccer coach since Mick McDaniel in 1999. Davis is a five-time MSAC Coach of the Year, including this season.


2013 All-Region Men’s Soccer

First Team
Samuel Naiwo, Adirondack
Jermaine Windster, Herkimer
Ben Polk, Genesee
Morgan Shutter, Tompkins Cortland


Jimmy Calderon, Herkimer
Rob Licciardi, Tompkins Cortland
Nathan Rose, Genesee Joe Boulter, Adirondack


Sean Streb, Tompkins Cortland
Pete McAvoy, Herkimer
Aaron Dunks, Genesee
Thomas Debenham, Adirondack

Tristan Henry, Herkimer


Second Team
Robbie Hoover, Broome
Dimitri Beauchamp, Delhi
Mitch Haas, Hudson Valley
Winterson Joseph, North Country


Bryan Coyt, Herkimer
Matthew Spencer, Cayuga
Jamie Maskell, Genesee
Leo Cunningham, Adirondack


Jason Boxx, Cayuga
Adis Redzic, Mohawk Valley
Shane Jenkinson, Adirondack
Enea Canaj, Hudson Valley


McZiggy Richards, Tompkins Cortland


Co-Coach of the Year Andy Davis, Tompkins Cortland
Pepe Aragon, Herkimer